Smolak Farms

★★★☆☆

About Smolak Farms

Categories
  • Bakeries
  • Farm Markets
Details
  • Shop Online

Food

Food
More choices in North Andover:
Resultset_next

Saja Farm

403 Parker Rd Dracut, MA

Resultset_next

Chris Farmstand A Marlenes

22 S Cross Rd Haverhill, IA

2.6 10
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Smolak Farms was?
Write a Review
.

Farm bait and switch. Cut your own christmas trees were pathetic, short and sparse, but since you've made the trip (with the kids) they have handy (apparently not very fresh) pre-cut christmas trees for 30% more than you'd pay closer to Boston. The tree must be very old, because I haven't had a tree lose so many needles so soon...ever. So pay more than ever for the worst tree ever. Too bad. Should have went to Russo's, or Lamberts...

1
★☆☆☆☆

Farm bait and switch. Cut your own christmas trees were pathetic, short and sparse, but since you've made the trip (with the kids) they have handy (apparently not very fresh) pre-cut christmas trees for 30% more than you'd pay closer to Boston. The tree must be very old, because I haven't had a tree lose so many needles so soon...ever. So pay more than ever for the worst tree ever. Too bad. Should have went to Russo's, or Lamberts...

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Well, i did my homework and went to Yelp and InsiderPages prior to going there but I didn't listen. I read the terrible Bithday party reviews and since we were going so the kids could pick pumpkins from the "patch" I didn't think the reviews applied and... I couldn't have been more wrong!!

We got there about 11am on a Sunday and already the field was filling with cars. We found the pumpkin "patch" (a yard with about 200 pumpkins) spread out on the small "patch" area. Since it was the beginning of the day, i guess i was expecting more but we all found "our" pumpkin and went to the cashier. I thought 60 cents per pound seemed high but I didn't realize how OVERPRICED it was and that this was only phase one of the Smolak Farm scam... and i do mean scam in every sense of the word. Six medium/large (but not giant by any means) pumpkins were over $78.00!!

Few local supermarkets are more pricey than Whole Foods and yesterday i saw pumpkins at Whole Foods that were every bit as large as the ones we bought at Smolak Farms that were TWO for $12 (some of the ones we bought at Smolak were OVER $14 EACH)!!!! Market Basket is selling large pumpkins for 29 cents per pound which is about the going price.. NOT 60 CENTS!! ESPECIALLY since the farmer, the distributor AND the retailer all need to make a profit from the retail store pumpkins.

the hay rides are $4 each person (no discount for children) for a very short hay ride $5 for six donuts (that admittedly are delicious BUT made with cheap corn syrup) were not nearly as upsetting as paying for two carving kits for $7 EACH (which i saw last night at Target for ONE DOLLAR each!!!!!!)

i'm not sure who owns Smolak Farms and how they sleep at night but i can assure you they sleep in luxury. in 2 hours four adults and two kids spent $150 and we didn't eat or drink anything.

This place is a scam in every sense of the word!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

Well, i did my homework and went to Yelp and InsiderPages prior to going there but I didn't listen. I read the terrible Bithday party reviews and since we were going so the kids could pick pumpkins from the "patch" I didn't think the reviews applied and... I couldn't have been more wrong!!

We got there about 11am on a Sunday and already the field was filling with cars. We found the pumpkin "patch" (a yard with about 200 pumpkins) spread out on the small "patch" area. Since it was the beginning of the day, i guess i was expecting more but we all found "our" pumpkin and went to the cashier. I thought 60 cents per pound seemed high but I didn't realize how OVERPRICED it was and that this was only phase one of the Smolak Farm scam... and i do mean scam in every sense of the word. Six medium/large (but not giant by any means) pumpkins were over $78.00!!

Few local supermarkets are more pricey than Whole Foods and yesterday i saw pumpkins at Whole Foods that were every bit as large as the ones we bought at Smolak Farms that were TWO for $12 (some of the ones we bought at Smolak were OVER $14 EACH)!!!! Market Basket is selling large pumpkins for 29 cents per pound which is about the going price.. NOT 60 CENTS!! ESPECIALLY since the farmer, the distributor AND the retailer all need to make a profit from the retail store pumpkins.

the hay rides are $4 each person (no discount for children) for a very short hay ride $5 for six donuts (that admittedly are delicious BUT made with cheap corn syrup) were not nearly as upsetting as paying for two carving kits for $7 EACH (which i saw last night at Target for ONE DOLLAR each!!!!!!)

i'm not sure who owns Smolak Farms and how they sleep at night but i can assure you they sleep in luxury. in 2 hours four adults and two kids spent $150 and we didn't eat or drink anything.

This place is a scam in every sense of the word!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Very disappointing and expensive. My family and I stopped in this morning and left after 30 minutes. We paid $5 for 6 donuts and they are charging $20 for a small bag (1/2 peck?) of apples. We asked one of the ladies working there where to go to pick your own apples - she responded "across the road, up the hill", we started on our way but it wasn't clear where to go. Still wanting to enjoy our day we headed up to Cider Hill Farm in Amesbury. It was a 180 degree turnaround, amazing difference. Cider Hill is clean, well laid out, the staff was friendly and the prices were much cheaper, not to mention the donuts were hot (cold at Smolak) and were only $5.95 a dozen instead of $5 for a half dozen. Pumpins are $.60/pound at Smolak and only $.49 at Cider Hall. Safe to say that we won't be back to Smolak, but we will be back to Cider Hill.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Very disappointing and expensive. My family and I stopped in this morning and left after 30 minutes. We paid $5 for 6 donuts and they are charging $20 for a small bag (1/2 peck?) of apples. We asked one of the ladies working there where to go to pick your own apples - she responded "across the road, up the hill", we started on our way but it wasn't clear where to go. Still wanting to enjoy our day we headed up to Cider Hill Farm in Amesbury. It was a 180 degree turnaround, amazing difference. Cider Hill is clean, well laid out, the staff was friendly and the prices were much cheaper, not to mention the donuts were hot (cold at Smolak) and were only $5.95 a dozen instead of $5 for a half dozen. Pumpins are $.60/pound at Smolak and only $.49 at Cider Hall. Safe to say that we won't be back to Smolak, but we will be back to Cider Hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Had my daughter's birthday party at venue. Encountered business issue. Matter resolved. No longer wish to review.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Had my daughter's birthday party at venue. Encountered business issue. Matter resolved. No longer wish to review.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Please do NOT have your child's birthday party here. I had my daughter's birthday party here and it was disappointing. They started our party 35 minutes late and we did not get the room we were promised. There was trash all over our room and they had trash from another party on the tables they expected us to use to set up our party.

When I tried to complain, their business manager responded:

Thank you for taking the time to write. As the Business Manager of
the Farm I do like to watch over all areas, in fact, I was standing at
the copy machine when you had your discussion with Cece.

As Cece said, the day ran behind schedule. As a working farm, during
the height of our busiest season, you can imagine how hectic it can
become. I know that the hostess did all she could to make it a memorable time for your daughter - that is our goal and I think we achieved it.

When Cece removed the charge for the bounce house I heard you say, "thank you, that makes me feel better." At no time was Cece
argumentative, actually she is one of the best employees on the farm - always wanting to please the customers and she works very hard to make that happen. There has never been a complaint, until now.

I received this email from the business manager 5 days after I sent my complaint and had left numerious messages. When I was finally able to call her, she just basically said "Sorry, there's nothing else we can do." Previous reviews from other websites have stated poor satisfaction with their parties. They obviously don't care about their reputation and the manager said I could take the business to court but there's nothing they can do. They just ran late. Unsatisfactory response for a party that cost $400. By the way, this is not a Better Business Bureau accredited business. No wonder!

0
★☆☆☆☆

Please do NOT have your child's birthday party here. I had my daughter's birthday party here and it was disappointing. They started our party 35 minutes late and we did not get the room we were promised. There was trash all over our room and they had trash from another party on the tables they expected us to use to set up our party.

When I tried to complain, their business manager responded:

Thank you for taking the time to write. As the Business Manager of
the Farm I do like to watch over all areas, in fact, I was standing at
the copy machine when you had your discussion with Cece.

As Cece said, the day ran behind schedule. As a working farm, during
the height of our busiest season, you can imagine how hectic it can
become. I know that the hostess did all she could to make it a memorable time for your daughter - that is our goal and I think we achieved it.

When Cece removed the charge for the bounce house I heard you say, "thank you, that makes me feel better." At no time was Cece
argumentative, actually she is one of the best employees on the farm - always wanting to please the customers and she works very hard to make that happen. There has never been a complaint, until now.

I received this email from the business manager 5 days after I sent my complaint and had left numerious messages. When I was finally able to call her, she just basically said "Sorry, there's nothing else we can do." Previous reviews from other websites have stated poor satisfaction with their parties. They obviously don't care about their reputation and the manager said I could take the business to court but there's nothing they can do. They just ran late. Unsatisfactory response for a party that cost $400. By the way, this is not a Better Business Bureau accredited business. No wonder!

.

This place is amazing. They have homemade ice cream and it goes excellently with the cakes and other baked goods.

4
★★★★☆

This place is amazing. They have homemade ice cream and it goes excellently with the cakes and other baked goods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Kids love this farm as they can see and feed the animals. They have pigs, peacocks, deer, lama and chickens. In fall you can go apple picking. My nephew recently had his birthday party here and all the kids loved it. They take care of everything including the cake, goody bags, snacks and activities for the children.

4
★★★★☆

Kids love this farm as they can see and feed the animals. They have pigs, peacocks, deer, lama and chickens. In fall you can go apple picking. My nephew recently had his birthday party here and all the kids loved it. They take care of everything including the cake, goody bags, snacks and activities for the children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

a good place for a school field trip. kids can take a hay ride. They have the some of the best apple cider donuts around....of course, I say that about everyone's apple donuts! They have nice baked pies and other goodies. Pick your own apples and peaches, and strawberries too. There is a small animal petting area also.

4
★★★★☆

a good place for a school field trip. kids can take a hay ride. They have the some of the best apple cider donuts around....of course, I say that about everyone's apple donuts! They have nice baked pies and other goodies. Pick your own apples and peaches, and strawberries too. There is a small animal petting area also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

this is a fun place to visit. they sell fresh fruit that you can pick yourself. there are also farm animals for the kids to see. they have a little store where they sell their produce. they also have a christmas tree farm there. they host events like peach picking, apple picking. the staff who works there are great with children - very polite. it is a huge farm, very worthwhile in visiting. plenty of parking of course. the prices are very reasonable for the fruit they sell. they also sell homemade pies, etc.

5
★★★★★

this is a fun place to visit. they sell fresh fruit that you can pick yourself. there are also farm animals for the kids to see. they have a little store where they sell their produce. they also have a christmas tree farm there. they host events like peach picking, apple picking. the staff who works there are great with children - very polite. it is a huge farm, very worthwhile in visiting. plenty of parking of course. the prices are very reasonable for the fruit they sell. they also sell homemade pies, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The farm has an orchard where you can pick apples during season. Also they have some animals. My son enjoyed feeding the animals. They have lots of deer, chickens, pigs, peacocks, bunnies and a lama. They also conduct birthday parties at the barn. During summer and fall they host a lot of festivals.

PROS: fruit picking, animals
CONS:

4
★★★★☆

The farm has an orchard where you can pick apples during season. Also they have some animals. My son enjoyed feeding the animals. They have lots of deer, chickens, pigs, peacocks, bunnies and a lama. They also conduct birthday parties at the barn. During summer and fall they host a lot of festivals.

PROS: fruit picking, animals
CONS:

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Smolak Farms, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review