Schwartz Plumbing Company

★★★☆☆
  • 1129 Corporation Pkwy Suite 161

    Raleigh, NC 27610

    Map & Directions
  • 919-212-2777

About Schwartz Plumbing Company

Categories
  • Special Trade Contractors
  • Plumbers
  • Toilets
Details
  • Bathroom Remodeling Contractors
  • Kitchen Remodeling Contractors
  • Advanced Plumbing
  • Faucet Repair
  • Install Water Heater
  • Sewer Main Clearing
  • Sewer Main Repair
  • Water Heater Repair
  • Water Heaters
Hours
Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:50 PM
Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:50 PM
Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:50 PM
Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:50 PM
Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:50 PM
Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:50 PM
Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:50 PM
3.0 11
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Schwartz Plumbing Company was?
Write a Review
.

Very pleased! Schwartz Plumbing was great. Ross, the plumber who did the work at my home, was experienced and polite. He fixed a problem that we had with the vent under the sink. I had a horrible smell under the sink. I didn't know that there was a vent under it. I guess it is because it is a free standing sink, not on a wall where the air vent can go to the roof. Ross told me that these vents need to be changed every five years or so. It wasn't expensive and now my home smells great. I was considering some other work that would have been expensive, and the plumber suggested I wait to see if I really need it. He didn't think I did. I was very, very pleased by his honest assessment of the situation. I highly recommend Schwartz Plumbing.

5
★★★★★

Very pleased! Schwartz Plumbing was great. Ross, the plumber who did the work at my home, was experienced and polite. He fixed a problem that we had with the vent under the sink. I had a horrible smell under the sink. I didn't know that there was a vent under it. I guess it is because it is a free standing sink, not on a wall where the air vent can go to the roof. Ross told me that these vents need to be changed every five years or so. It wasn't expensive and now my home smells great. I was considering some other work that would have been expensive, and the plumber suggested I wait to see if I really need it. He didn't think I did. I was very, very pleased by his honest assessment of the situation. I highly recommend Schwartz Plumbing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Lori K., Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you are satisfied with our services. - Stuart Schwartz
.

In late March, 2011, my well pump stopped working and I called Schwartz plumbing as they had done some service work on the well in 2006. I felt the $900 price for a few hours work was exorbitant.

Their man, Brian, arrived at 9:00 AM as scheduled, but he had no equipment or helper to work on a well issue. The person taking the service call was not interested in taking any information about the problem or the installation so they could come prepared. Brian said he would have to come back the following day with a helper and the proper equipment, but, since I was without water, I stated that was unacceptable. I offered to help him unload and set up the equipment if he could not get a helper.

Brian left at about 9:20 AM to go back to his shop for the equipment he needed, and arrived back at my home about 11:15 AM. The piece of equipment, a pipe extractor, weighed about a hundred pounds, and, given that he recently had knee replacement surgery, it was too much for him to handle even with my help. I called my son who lives nearby, and he came by to help unload the device and position it at the well head.

To operate the machine required a 100' extension cord to reach an available power outlet. Brian did not have a 100' cord because someone had pilfered suppies from his truck and he had not yet replaced them. I rounded up a couple of heavy duty extension cords so he could proceed with his work.

I had to leave, but at 1:15 PM Brian called to say the problem was a broken wire which he would splice to repair. I cannot speak to whether or not it is appropriate to splice a wire that will be underground and under water. In home electrical wiring, generally speaking a concealed splice in a wire is not acceptable -- an accessible junction box is required.

Brian commented that the torque arrestor was "torn up" and that that was a probable cause for the wire breaking. He had to send back to the shop for a couple of torque arrestors as he did not have any on his truck. He also commented that there was an obstruction or offset in the pipe casing, and that such might be the source of future problems as well as the cause of the current problem. Such offset was not observed or remarked upon when Schwartz installed the pipe and motor in December of 2006. Although opening the well and working on the motor raised the potential of contaminating the well water, there was no evidence of chlorine or other disinfectant being added to re-sanitize the installation.

At 2:30 PM, Brian called to say the work was completed. The bill for 3-1/2 hours of work with minimal parts was $900. I consider that price exorbitant. The professional services of a licensed structural engineer range from $125 to $175 per hour. The professional services of a licensed attorney is $125 to $150 per hour. There is no way a tradesman can justify charging over $250 per hour for his services. Particularly when he shows up on the job without the basic tools and equipment required to do the job. The service provided was considerably short of professional. Running back and forth is his cost for not being prepared. It is not my responsibility.

In the construction trades, the going rate for a tradesman is $200 to $250 per day, plus a similar amount for each piece of significant equipment required. A fully equipped service truck would be considered a "piece of equipment" for pricing purposes. Thus, a reasonable cost for the work performed would be between $400 and $500. A $900 charge is clearly excessive.

2
★★☆☆☆

In late March, 2011, my well pump stopped working and I called Schwartz plumbing as they had done some service work on the well in 2006. I felt the $900 price for a few hours work was exorbitant.

Their man, Brian, arrived at 9:00 AM as scheduled, but he had no equipment or helper to work on a well issue. The person taking the service call was not interested in taking any information about the problem or the installation so they could come prepared. Brian said he would have to come back the following day with a helper and the proper equipment, but, since I was without water, I stated that was unacceptable. I offered to help him unload and set up the equipment if he could not get a helper.

Brian left at about 9:20 AM to go back to his shop for the equipment he needed, and arrived back at my home about 11:15 AM. The piece of equipment, a pipe extractor, weighed about a hundred pounds, and, given that he recently had knee replacement surgery, it was too much for him to handle even with my help. I called my son who lives nearby, and he came by to help unload the device and position it at the well head.

To operate the machine required a 100' extension cord to reach an available power outlet. Brian did not have a 100' cord because someone had pilfered suppies from his truck and he had not yet replaced them. I rounded up a couple of heavy duty extension cords so he could proceed with his work.

I had to leave, but at 1:15 PM Brian called to say the problem was a broken wire which he would splice to repair. I cannot speak to whether or not it is appropriate to splice a wire that will be underground and under water. In home electrical wiring, generally speaking a concealed splice in a wire is not acceptable -- an accessible junction box is required.

Brian commented that the torque arrestor was "torn up" and that that was a probable cause for the wire breaking. He had to send back to the shop for a couple of torque arrestors as he did not have any on his truck. He also commented that there was an obstruction or offset in the pipe casing, and that such might be the source of future problems as well as the cause of the current problem. Such offset was not observed or remarked upon when Schwartz installed the pipe and motor in December of 2006. Although opening the well and working on the motor raised the potential of contaminating the well water, there was no evidence of chlorine or other disinfectant being added to re-sanitize the installation.

At 2:30 PM, Brian called to say the work was completed. The bill for 3-1/2 hours of work with minimal parts was $900. I consider that price exorbitant. The professional services of a licensed structural engineer range from $125 to $175 per hour. The professional services of a licensed attorney is $125 to $150 per hour. There is no way a tradesman can justify charging over $250 per hour for his services. Particularly when he shows up on the job without the basic tools and equipment required to do the job. The service provided was considerably short of professional. Running back and forth is his cost for not being prepared. It is not my responsibility.

In the construction trades, the going rate for a tradesman is $200 to $250 per day, plus a similar amount for each piece of significant equipment required. A fully equipped service truck would be considered a "piece of equipment" for pricing purposes. Thus, a reasonable cost for the work performed would be between $400 and $500. A $900 charge is clearly excessive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Mr. Bill, We are dismayed that you are obviously not satisfied with your experience. When you spoke with Stuart Schwartz, he apologized and sent you a substantial refund, which you should have received in April of 2011. After speaking to our dispatcher who took your call, I learned that she informed you that your situation would require two people, and only one technician was available on that day. The dispatcher said that you offered to assist our technician rather than wait until the the following day. since you were without water. Our clients satisfaction is important to us, and we are sorry that you were not satisfied with this experience. Please call Stuart Schwartz if you would like to further discuss this situation, or if you have not received your refund. Thank you.
.

Plumbing work was fine and plumber very friendly, but never could resolve a billing dispute. They gave me a quote for the entire job, but then when they completed the work in stages, they billed me additionally for the first stage. At first I was promised it would all be worked out when I paid the bill for the full quote, but it never was. After months of invoices, I paid the extra bill, but I will never use them again.

2
★★☆☆☆

Plumbing work was fine and plumber very friendly, but never could resolve a billing dispute. They gave me a quote for the entire job, but then when they completed the work in stages, they billed me additionally for the first stage. At first I was promised it would all be worked out when I paid the bill for the full quote, but it never was. After months of invoices, I paid the extra bill, but I will never use them again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

As the owner of Schwarz Plumbing, I was involved in your project and worked with you directly. Thank you for your review. I am pleased that the plumbing work was performed to your satisfaction, and that you were satisfied with the technician who performed the work. I recall that the original estimate we provided was to reconnect the dishwasher, sink, disposer, and the line to the refrigerator after you completed the demo and remodeling of your kitchen. We understand that disconnecting all of the necessary appliances and pipes can be difficult, which is why I was not surprised to hear that you and your husband asked me to send a technician to help you perform those tasks before you demo'd the kitchen. We responded to you quickly and performed the additional work. I am sorry that you feel frustrated regarding the billing for the extra work. I have all of the records and notes regarding your project, and I would be pleased to speak with you to review them. I appreciate your payment, and I am very pleased that you had a positive experience with the technician who performed the work in your home. I hope to hear from you. Thank you.
.

We have had them out twice, about a year apart, for two different plumbing problems. I am about to call them again, for another, unrelated problem. They have been very competent and competitively priced. They got the job done in good time. My only concern is how long it takes to get an appointment. I recommend them to others.

4
★★★★☆

We have had them out twice, about a year apart, for two different plumbing problems. I am about to call them again, for another, unrelated problem. They have been very competent and competitively priced. They got the job done in good time. My only concern is how long it takes to get an appointment. I recommend them to others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Kate C., Thank you for your comments. If you ever need an appointment sooner than the one offered to you by my staff, please ask to speak to me. I can adjust the technicians schedules to ensure that we find a time that meets your needs. Thank you for your continued business. - Stuart Schwartz, owner of Schwartz Plumbing Company
.

Will not be using, or recommending this company to anyone. I called this company for a small general repair. The employee that came out to do the work left his work leaking. When I call the office to ask for a return visit the employee was rude and disrespectful. Further more her phone edict was deplorable at best. I asked that employee why I was receiving attitude, her response was only more attitude. I asked another employee to have the owner contact me. When doing so the owner gave a half heart apology for the employee and stood by her actions explaining how she has always been a great employee. By far my worst experience with a plumber, and a lasting poor image of the company and it's inability to interact professionally with paying customers . If you are looking for a good one that will do a good job and treat you with respect I would look somewhere else.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Will not be using, or recommending this company to anyone. I called this company for a small general repair. The employee that came out to do the work left his work leaking. When I call the office to ask for a return visit the employee was rude and disrespectful. Further more her phone edict was deplorable at best. I asked that employee why I was receiving attitude, her response was only more attitude. I asked another employee to have the owner contact me. When doing so the owner gave a half heart apology for the employee and stood by her actions explaining how she has always been a great employee. By far my worst experience with a plumber, and a lasting poor image of the company and it's inability to interact professionally with paying customers . If you are looking for a good one that will do a good job and treat you with respect I would look somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Stuart himself is a very stand up type guy, willing to go to the mat to try to make things right... problem is his employees are at best incompetent, at worst neglegent.
When I had a problem with service I received, Stuart bent over backwards to try to have his people fix the problem until I finally told them to just go away and I called in competent help.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Stuart himself is a very stand up type guy, willing to go to the mat to try to make things right... problem is his employees are at best incompetent, at worst neglegent.
When I had a problem with service I received, Stuart bent over backwards to try to have his people fix the problem until I finally told them to just go away and I called in competent help.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

AVOID THIS COMPANY Chris, an employee, explained that Schwartz Plumbing always provides a WRITTEN estimate BEFORE any work is done. I recently needed a plumber at a rental house in Raleigh, and scheduled a plumber for 8:00 AM the following morning. When I arrived at 8:00 AM the next day, I was surprised to see that the work had already been done. The plumber stated that he had arrived at 7:30. It took about 20 minutes for the job and the bill was $260!. Of course, there was no estimate, so, I could not reject this exorbitant fee. A respectful letter was written to Mr. Schwartz complaining of the situation. NO phone call; NO return letter; NO email reply! AVOID THIS COMPANY.

1
★☆☆☆☆

AVOID THIS COMPANY Chris, an employee, explained that Schwartz Plumbing always provides a WRITTEN estimate BEFORE any work is done. I recently needed a plumber at a rental house in Raleigh, and scheduled a plumber for 8:00 AM the following morning. When I arrived at 8:00 AM the next day, I was surprised to see that the work had already been done. The plumber stated that he had arrived at 7:30. It took about 20 minutes for the job and the bill was $260!. Of course, there was no estimate, so, I could not reject this exorbitant fee. A respectful letter was written to Mr. Schwartz complaining of the situation. NO phone call; NO return letter; NO email reply! AVOID THIS COMPANY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Charles S., We acknowledge that our dispatcher did not provide you or our technician with detailed information. Mr. Schwartz did communicate with you, and he sent you a partial refund. The dispatcher you spoke with is no longer in our employ. She should have have provided you with a general estimate. She should have informed the technician to wait for you to arrive before performing the work. Our dispatchers are experienced and dedicated. They work diligently to communicate clearly to our clients and our technicians. Many of our clients receive price quotes from multiple companies prior to having work performed. We consistently hear that our pricing is fair and competitive. Since the communication error was our responsibility, Mr. Schwartz sent you a refund. Please contact Stuart Schwartz if you would like to discuss this situation. Thank you.
.

We had them come out to look at a leak in the drain trap of our bathtub and it was fixed in less than 30 minutes. Quick, efficient and actually inexpensive- considering this is a 40 year old house with 40 year old plumbing.

I highly recommend them!

4
★★★★☆

We had them come out to look at a leak in the drain trap of our bathtub and it was fixed in less than 30 minutes. Quick, efficient and actually inexpensive- considering this is a 40 year old house with 40 year old plumbing.

I highly recommend them!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Stephanie L., I appreciate your comment. - Stuart Schwartz, owner of Schwartz Plumbing Company
.

Hot water heater in attic malfunctioned causing flood in attic that damaged hardwoods, carpets and ceilings. We made an emergency call to Schwartz Plumbing. They arrived in less than an hour. Shut off valve didn't work and water supply to the house had to be shut off. Our insurance adjuster's main concern, "Was immediate action taken to prevent further water damage to the property?" Yes, thanks to the promptness and efficiency of Schwartz Plumbing. They even worked in harmony with a restoration crew we had hired and a new water heater was up and running in a matter of hours. At the insurance company's request, Schwartz Plumbing broke down charges on an invoice making it straightforward for the adjuster.

Time is of the essence when dealing with your insurance company. Explain your situation and Schwartz works with you.

5
★★★★★

Hot water heater in attic malfunctioned causing flood in attic that damaged hardwoods, carpets and ceilings. We made an emergency call to Schwartz Plumbing. They arrived in less than an hour. Shut off valve didn't work and water supply to the house had to be shut off. Our insurance adjuster's main concern, "Was immediate action taken to prevent further water damage to the property?" Yes, thanks to the promptness and efficiency of Schwartz Plumbing. They even worked in harmony with a restoration crew we had hired and a new water heater was up and running in a matter of hours. At the insurance company's request, Schwartz Plumbing broke down charges on an invoice making it straightforward for the adjuster.

Time is of the essence when dealing with your insurance company. Explain your situation and Schwartz works with you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Plumbing is their star! They are focused on the customer, finding the problem fast, fixing it efficiently and making the customer happy. Their prices are reasonable and they even will come out at all hours of the night. I was pleased with the receptionist and her willingness to find out what the problem was before making the appt. they were on time and apologized when it took longer to fix the problem than they had expected.

4
★★★★☆

Plumbing is their star! They are focused on the customer, finding the problem fast, fixing it efficiently and making the customer happy. Their prices are reasonable and they even will come out at all hours of the night. I was pleased with the receptionist and her willingness to find out what the problem was before making the appt. they were on time and apologized when it took longer to fix the problem than they had expected.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Melissa, Thank your for commenting. I love to hear that the technicians and receptionists are as eager to satisfy our clients as I am. We look forward to helping you keep your home in good shape. - Stuart Schwartz, owner of Schwartz Plumbing Company
.

Schwartz runs a great business. He is in touch with his customers even though he has other plumbers assisting him in his business. This business has really grown over the last few years. I remember when we lived in the same neighborhood, but never really became acquainted with him. Then after moving, we needed his services. We were really pleased with his business.

4
★★★★☆

Schwartz runs a great business. He is in touch with his customers even though he has other plumbers assisting him in his business. This business has really grown over the last few years. I remember when we lived in the same neighborhood, but never really became acquainted with him. Then after moving, we needed his services. We were really pleased with his business.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Vicky, Thank you for writing this comment. It is important for me to be in touch with my customers and with my technicians. Best wishes. - Stuart Schwartz, owner of Schwartz Plumbing Company

Message from Schwartz Plumbing Company

We are understandably proud of the quality and professionalism of our staff and crew at Schwartz Plumbing. You never have to be concerned about who is assigned to your project, because all of our technicians are fully qualified and screened. We emphasize reliability, cleanliness, professionalism and responsibility among our staff.



When you call Schwartz Plumbing, you will be served in a professional and courteous manner by our office staff. Our hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm. For emergency services, you can contact us 24 hours each day. 7 days each week by calling 919-212-2777. Thank you for considering Schwartz Plumbing.

More about Schwartz Plumbing Company

We are a fully insured, licensed, residential plumbing contractor. We sell and service water heaters, offer drain cleaning, water and sewer line replacement, general plumbing repairs, fixture replacement, and water heater installation. We also remodel bathrooms and kitchens. What makes Schwartz Plumbing Company unique in the Triangle area? - Stuart Schwartz, the founder and president of Schwartz Plumbing, is available to speak or meet with you. - Our professional technicians will provide honest and helpful responses to your questions. Feel free to ask them about the pros and cons of the solutions you are considering. - All of the work we perform is guaranteed. Our goal is to satisfy you!

Articles and Advice

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Schwartz Plumbing Company, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review