Grizzly Automotive Svc Ctr

★★★★☆

Automotive

Automotive
More choices in Wadsworth:
Resultset_next

Midas

501 S Green Bay Rd Waukegan, IL

Resultset_next

Pro Auto Tech

1325 Belvidere Road Waukegan, IL

4.0 8
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Grizzly Automotive Svc Ctr was?
Write a Review
.

We have been dealing with Jim Hanna since he purchased the business formerly known as Grizzly's Automotive. We were really happy with the previous owner and enjoyed a great relationship with him for many years. Naturally, when the 'new' Jim took over we were a little concerned. We are glad to say the transition has been seamless. Jim always tries to get you in as soon as possible and gets the car back to you when promised. The price is always fair and the work is done correctly. He's even replaced the brakes on my Toyota Matrix at no charge when the pads were not wearing evenly due to a manufactuers defect. Many times he has taken me home then picked me up when the work was completed. That's what I call service! I have referred him to family and friends and every person who has gone to Hanna's has been very happy with the service and price. This is a place you can trust without paying dealer prices.

5
★★★★★

We have been dealing with Jim Hanna since he purchased the business formerly known as Grizzly's Automotive. We were really happy with the previous owner and enjoyed a great relationship with him for many years. Naturally, when the 'new' Jim took over we were a little concerned. We are glad to say the transition has been seamless. Jim always tries to get you in as soon as possible and gets the car back to you when promised. The price is always fair and the work is done correctly. He's even replaced the brakes on my Toyota Matrix at no charge when the pads were not wearing evenly due to a manufactuers defect. Many times he has taken me home then picked me up when the work was completed. That's what I call service! I have referred him to family and friends and every person who has gone to Hanna's has been very happy with the service and price. This is a place you can trust without paying dealer prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Hi Linda, Thank you. Very nice of you to write this. Remind me about your oil change. :) I bought Jim's shop because we were so similar in our personalities. His health issues just would not allow him to stay in this work. It is more than just about your car. I love hearing about your family and what goes on in the town where I live. Have a great Thanksgiving if I do not see you before then.
.

I am repeatedly amazed at the value you get at Grizzly Auto. The work they do is fine, they get the job done right. Where they really shine is that they never overcharge you and they are always pleasant to deal with.

They also always get it done in about a half day, and will take you right away if it's an emergency (assuming there aren't too many emergencies in one day!)

These guys know what it is like to live on a budget and are never trying to rip you off or squeeze an extra cent out of you. They do exactly what you want, nothing more, and charge you less than what you expect.

Definitely recommended.

5
★★★★★

I am repeatedly amazed at the value you get at Grizzly Auto. The work they do is fine, they get the job done right. Where they really shine is that they never overcharge you and they are always pleasant to deal with.

They also always get it done in about a half day, and will take you right away if it's an emergency (assuming there aren't too many emergencies in one day!)

These guys know what it is like to live on a budget and are never trying to rip you off or squeeze an extra cent out of you. They do exactly what you want, nothing more, and charge you less than what you expect.

Definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have been to Grizzly for auto repairs in Wadsworth and have always been treated fairly. Practically my whole family goes there. I read some of these comments. Does the one guy know how much a gallon of good coolant costs these days? Jim is sincerely a good person and not wolf in sheeps clothing. Some people. Unbelievable.

5
★★★★★

I have been to Grizzly for auto repairs in Wadsworth and have always been treated fairly. Practically my whole family goes there. I read some of these comments. Does the one guy know how much a gallon of good coolant costs these days? Jim is sincerely a good person and not wolf in sheeps clothing. Some people. Unbelievable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have had several repairs to my cars over the years. I have always been satisfied. Even if something happened Jim always takes care of it. Glad to know they are here in town.

5
★★★★★

I have had several repairs to my cars over the years. I have always been satisfied. Even if something happened Jim always takes care of it. Glad to know they are here in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The first thing you notice about jim is that hes really nice. which your thinking, thats cool you dont meet to many people who are as nice as him. until the wolf sheds the sheeps clothing. this guy wears a smile to wooh you! kills you with kindness. then overcharges you misleads you into thinking things, tallys up charges like a bar tab, while your thinking hes just a really nice guy. hes racking up the little things. you think hes doing it just because, hes not! check your receipt.I ask for 3 simple jobs to be done with my car he did 1 the other 2 when i asked if he did them he said noooo candidly then changed the subject. which made me question this guy.he did the oil change,after not being able to find a current problem with my car he said "i cant figure out whats wrong" he said go ahead and leave if you notice the problem again bring it back. so i took as i didnt have to pay for the oil change.(HE MADE IT SEEM LIKE HE WAS FRUSTRATED AND DID THE OIL CHANGE AS A FAVOR) DONT BE FOOLED!!! 3 WEEKS PASS!! the problem continued i set an appointment up, he did the job.i had to call him around closing time.thats when i learned all the "little favors" where not little favors he tallied everything up. the oil change was done 3 weeks ago i explained!! I was prepared to pay for the oil change that day!! why would u have me think it wasnt a big issue. and let me leave without paying?! This sheep is a wolf indeed. $15 for coolant Double charged me to install a battery yes a battery $49 for labor $89 install fee this is how the paper read. he keeps your car all day dosent call you when its done. then tax on hours of service charges.. at first you think this guy is great,while your thinking that he's eyeing your wallet. This Man can not be trusted!! Point blank!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

The first thing you notice about jim is that hes really nice. which your thinking, thats cool you dont meet to many people who are as nice as him. until the wolf sheds the sheeps clothing. this guy wears a smile to wooh you! kills you with kindness. then overcharges you misleads you into thinking things, tallys up charges like a bar tab, while your thinking hes just a really nice guy. hes racking up the little things. you think hes doing it just because, hes not! check your receipt.I ask for 3 simple jobs to be done with my car he did 1 the other 2 when i asked if he did them he said noooo candidly then changed the subject. which made me question this guy.he did the oil change,after not being able to find a current problem with my car he said "i cant figure out whats wrong" he said go ahead and leave if you notice the problem again bring it back. so i took as i didnt have to pay for the oil change.(HE MADE IT SEEM LIKE HE WAS FRUSTRATED AND DID THE OIL CHANGE AS A FAVOR) DONT BE FOOLED!!! 3 WEEKS PASS!! the problem continued i set an appointment up, he did the job.i had to call him around closing time.thats when i learned all the "little favors" where not little favors he tallied everything up. the oil change was done 3 weeks ago i explained!! I was prepared to pay for the oil change that day!! why would u have me think it wasnt a big issue. and let me leave without paying?! This sheep is a wolf indeed. $15 for coolant Double charged me to install a battery yes a battery $49 for labor $89 install fee this is how the paper read. he keeps your car all day dosent call you when its done. then tax on hours of service charges.. at first you think this guy is great,while your thinking that he's eyeing your wallet. This Man can not be trusted!! Point blank!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

This guy came in with Dodge Caliber. He wanted me to look for a coolant leak at the same time I changed the oil. I told him I could not find a definite leak and to bring it back. I let him take the car without paying. His wife brought the car back a few days later and asked me to put in a battery she had bought. I don't normally put in customers parts but I did it for them. The battery cost what it did to install because it is in the fender well. You have to take off the tire. Take off the inner fender well cover , remove the battery and do the whole process again to reinstall. I told them all this ahead of time. They agreed to do it. I checked for a coolant leak again at that time and still saw none. Again I let them take the car without charging them because they had been here before I "thought" they were nice people.Finally the coolant leak was bad enough to show itself and he brought it in. It was a thermostat housing. I called with the price and he agreed. He came to pick up the car and I had the total bill for the oil change, battery install and the housing. He got mad because he had to pay the bill finally. He knew the other items had not been paid for but acted insulted because he actually had to pay for it. He knew exactly how much each item was at the time the work was performed. Then he says make sure you charge me every time I get something done no matter what. I said that was fine and that I thought it might be better to pay for everything at once when we figured out the coolant leak. He agreed at the time. So, I find out he writes this after I trusted them without paying and did them a favor by installing a customer supplied part. That is the real story. How would you feel if you were a shop owner and saw this after you tried to help them out? Would you help anyone else out. You might think twice about it. Jim Hanna
.

I have had several repairs and this place takes the cake on pricing and customer satisfaction. I have sent family members and friends to Jim and they have seen what he can do and then my family members have sent friends to Grizzly's also. They are reliable and give you the information you need unless you ask for more. I would suggest this shop to anyone.

5
★★★★★

I have had several repairs and this place takes the cake on pricing and customer satisfaction. I have sent family members and friends to Jim and they have seen what he can do and then my family members have sent friends to Grizzly's also. They are reliable and give you the information you need unless you ask for more. I would suggest this shop to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you Nicole. I appreciate it. Jim Hanna
.

I've read a couple of bad ratings, but for the most part most have been pretty positive. As far as myself goes, I always take my car to Grizzly Auto. I've always been treated with courtesy. One time in the middle of winter I bought some new windshield wiper blades at the NAPA store, but because of the extreme cold, and a broken thumb I finally went to Grizzly and asked Jim for some kind of guide on how to put those stupid things on. He went one better... Jim put 'em on himself and didn't charge me a penny!

I trust their work, and judgement on things. In fact I'm taking my car in tomorrow for a brake job. Personally, if I took it to Mr. Goodwrench, it would cost at least twice as much for the same quality of work.

5
★★★★★

I've read a couple of bad ratings, but for the most part most have been pretty positive. As far as myself goes, I always take my car to Grizzly Auto. I've always been treated with courtesy. One time in the middle of winter I bought some new windshield wiper blades at the NAPA store, but because of the extreme cold, and a broken thumb I finally went to Grizzly and asked Jim for some kind of guide on how to put those stupid things on. He went one better... Jim put 'em on himself and didn't charge me a penny!

I trust their work, and judgement on things. In fact I'm taking my car in tomorrow for a brake job. Personally, if I took it to Mr. Goodwrench, it would cost at least twice as much for the same quality of work.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you Alan.
.

The only reason I decided to come back for this third appointment for a muffler job (!) is because you promised me only $35 for labor, which I??d be hard-pressed to find anywhere else. But rest assured that I will never, ever go to Grizzly??s again, and will speak of your service center negatively to everyone I interact with.

I am a first time Grizzly customer, and came upon the recommendation of another customer. No business manager in their right mind would treat a first-time customer ?? or any customer, for that matter, especially in a recession ?? as you have. Most places are bending over backwards to keep or make customers. You have chased me away.

The first time we set up an appointment, you said ??Monday, at 11:00, 11:30.? I verbally verified the appointment time with you specifically, saying, ??I??ll see you at 11:00 on Monday.? I even wrote it down right then and there on one of your business cards.

Apparently you did not write it down or pay attention. I came in on Monday at 11:00, and you not only did not honor my appointment, you told me in a rude manner that I was incorrect, and that my appointment was for 11:30. I know that another vehicle demanded attention due to being towed in, but I was first ?? I had an appointment. By not honoring my appointment, you were saying that you did not care about me as a customer. Nice going. Way to please a first-timer.

But wait, it gets better. I asked you to call me back on my cell phone as soon as an availability came up. You called me later that afternoon, but by that time I had booked an interview for 3:00. You told me that you didn??t want to get in the way of the interview (thank you), and that you were willing to take my car afterwards. I told you that the interview was in N. Canton. You replied, ??How about 5:00? Will that give you enough time?? I said that it would, and that I would see you at 5:00. I thought that it was a late time for business, but after all, you suggested the time, and we agreed on it before hanging up.

When I came in at 5:00, you just gave me a blank stare. I told you that I was here for my 5:00 appointment, and you gave me an incredulous look and said, ??Man, we??re closing up; everybody??s going home.? Excuse me? Is that how you respond to a customer? I come in for an appointment and you say, ??We??re going home?? Incredible.

But that??s not all ?? it gets better. I told you sternly, ??I have a 5:00 appointment. We agreed on 5:00.? And then you said something that made me absolutely livid. You asked for my keys and then said sarcastically, ??You??re killing me.? What kind of business treats their customer that way?

You will never see from me or hear from me as your customer again. And neither will you see any of my family, friends, or neighbors, because I will tell them about how you have treated me, a first-time Grizzly customer. There are too many competitors to put up with this kind of garbage.

1
★☆☆☆☆

The only reason I decided to come back for this third appointment for a muffler job (!) is because you promised me only $35 for labor, which I??d be hard-pressed to find anywhere else. But rest assured that I will never, ever go to Grizzly??s again, and will speak of your service center negatively to everyone I interact with.

I am a first time Grizzly customer, and came upon the recommendation of another customer. No business manager in their right mind would treat a first-time customer ?? or any customer, for that matter, especially in a recession ?? as you have. Most places are bending over backwards to keep or make customers. You have chased me away.

The first time we set up an appointment, you said ??Monday, at 11:00, 11:30.? I verbally verified the appointment time with you specifically, saying, ??I??ll see you at 11:00 on Monday.? I even wrote it down right then and there on one of your business cards.

Apparently you did not write it down or pay attention. I came in on Monday at 11:00, and you not only did not honor my appointment, you told me in a rude manner that I was incorrect, and that my appointment was for 11:30. I know that another vehicle demanded attention due to being towed in, but I was first ?? I had an appointment. By not honoring my appointment, you were saying that you did not care about me as a customer. Nice going. Way to please a first-timer.

But wait, it gets better. I asked you to call me back on my cell phone as soon as an availability came up. You called me later that afternoon, but by that time I had booked an interview for 3:00. You told me that you didn??t want to get in the way of the interview (thank you), and that you were willing to take my car afterwards. I told you that the interview was in N. Canton. You replied, ??How about 5:00? Will that give you enough time?? I said that it would, and that I would see you at 5:00. I thought that it was a late time for business, but after all, you suggested the time, and we agreed on it before hanging up.

When I came in at 5:00, you just gave me a blank stare. I told you that I was here for my 5:00 appointment, and you gave me an incredulous look and said, ??Man, we??re closing up; everybody??s going home.? Excuse me? Is that how you respond to a customer? I come in for an appointment and you say, ??We??re going home?? Incredible.

But that??s not all ?? it gets better. I told you sternly, ??I have a 5:00 appointment. We agreed on 5:00.? And then you said something that made me absolutely livid. You asked for my keys and then said sarcastically, ??You??re killing me.? What kind of business treats their customer that way?

You will never see from me or hear from me as your customer again. And neither will you see any of my family, friends, or neighbors, because I will tell them about how you have treated me, a first-time Grizzly customer. There are too many competitors to put up with this kind of garbage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

I did not own the shop when this review was left. I have no idea what happened. Jim Hanna

Message from Grizzly Automotive Svc Ctr

We are now Hanna Automotive of Wadsworth. Formerly Grizzly Automotive. Same people just a different name. :)

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Grizzly Automotive Svc Ctr, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review