Big River Bar & Grill

★★★★☆

About Big River Bar & Grill

Food

Food
More choices in Cedar Hill:
Resultset_next

Main Street Cafe

117 Main St Hillsboro, MO

Resultset_next

Los Portales

201 Main St Hillsboro, AL

3.65 20
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Big River Bar & Grill was?
Write a Review
.

Heard theyre under new management..... a lady that has worked there for a long time was promoted to take over the manager position. But to give my review... a lovely waitress served me and my family sunday night, it was about 5:00, I think she is new, we all got the fried chicken special for $7.00 which by the way for 4 of us including our drinks and tip we spent right around $40.00 we all had to go boxes with half of the meal to take home there was so much food, and everything was cooked to perfection.--- New manager was needed a year ago when this place started going down hill with poor service. Whoever this new manager is I can already see improvement keep it up and get your help trained to be as good as the waitress that worked sunday. We quit coming because of the poor service, we will be back when that waitress is working I believe her name is Leslie, or something close to that. Once everyone is trained to give great service you will see me back on saturday nights for prime rib and Jonny B.

4
★★★★☆

Heard theyre under new management..... a lady that has worked there for a long time was promoted to take over the manager position. But to give my review... a lovely waitress served me and my family sunday night, it was about 5:00, I think she is new, we all got the fried chicken special for $7.00 which by the way for 4 of us including our drinks and tip we spent right around $40.00 we all had to go boxes with half of the meal to take home there was so much food, and everything was cooked to perfection.--- New manager was needed a year ago when this place started going down hill with poor service. Whoever this new manager is I can already see improvement keep it up and get your help trained to be as good as the waitress that worked sunday. We quit coming because of the poor service, we will be back when that waitress is working I believe her name is Leslie, or something close to that. Once everyone is trained to give great service you will see me back on saturday nights for prime rib and Jonny B.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Good food and prices and service. would def recommend to friends. grate drinks and good priced for quality.

4
★★★★☆

Good food and prices and service. would def recommend to friends. grate drinks and good priced for quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The food is excellent & the staff is friendly. Got kids? Don't sit in the bar! We have dinner there every week

4
★★★★☆

The food is excellent & the staff is friendly. Got kids? Don't sit in the bar! We have dinner there every week

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

If you can handle the drunk bartenders and waitresses,and you dont mind your kids hering foul mouth people,it a good spot.and its a great place to buy weed just ask any bartender there.

1
★☆☆☆☆

If you can handle the drunk bartenders and waitresses,and you dont mind your kids hering foul mouth people,it a good spot.and its a great place to buy weed just ask any bartender there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I absolutely love Big River! I go there all the time with my family. I think it is very kid friendly. That is if you have your children in there at a reasonable time because it is a bar too. The staff is very friendly,the service is great, and the food is amazing!

5
★★★★★

I absolutely love Big River! I go there all the time with my family. I think it is very kid friendly. That is if you have your children in there at a reasonable time because it is a bar too. The staff is very friendly,the service is great, and the food is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Total white trash haven. If you like trucks, white trash, and filthy mouths, definitely go there.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Total white trash haven. If you like trucks, white trash, and filthy mouths, definitely go there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We have gone to this place at least once a week since it ha opened and usually have a good food experience, but last nite was awful! we got there at 5:45 for dinner with 5 people.There were only 2 other tables being served at that time. By 7:30 we were served 2 dinners and told that the order was not been put in the computer correctly and the other dinners were not ready. At 7:45 we asked for to go boxes for the rest of the dinners and told the watress how we were very disappointed with the service. As we were leaving i was confronted with some woman who was totally out of place and rude to me. I tried to tell her we come here often but she was so buzzed or mad that another woman who knew me came over and said please ingore her and and was sorry the rudness of the woman. I know one of the waitress was up set but she should have told us the problem instead of letting us sit there for almost 2 hrs. When we got home after paying for the 5 dinners only 2 were sent home with us. What a shame they can't get more help with better manors. I can't rate the place because i love the food and how close it is to my house, but i will not be back for a while.

4
★★★★☆

We have gone to this place at least once a week since it ha opened and usually have a good food experience, but last nite was awful! we got there at 5:45 for dinner with 5 people.There were only 2 other tables being served at that time. By 7:30 we were served 2 dinners and told that the order was not been put in the computer correctly and the other dinners were not ready. At 7:45 we asked for to go boxes for the rest of the dinners and told the watress how we were very disappointed with the service. As we were leaving i was confronted with some woman who was totally out of place and rude to me. I tried to tell her we come here often but she was so buzzed or mad that another woman who knew me came over and said please ingore her and and was sorry the rudness of the woman. I know one of the waitress was up set but she should have told us the problem instead of letting us sit there for almost 2 hrs. When we got home after paying for the 5 dinners only 2 were sent home with us. What a shame they can't get more help with better manors. I can't rate the place because i love the food and how close it is to my house, but i will not be back for a while.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have never had any problems taking my kids there for dinner, but we usually go there around 5:00pm. The food is great and the owner is awesome. I had a special family party and Bobby helped pick out the menu and I got the whole dining room to myself everything was set up and the service was amazing. The price was beyond reasonable. Bobby has also donated 2 dinners for an elderly couple where I work, that were celebrating their 60th wedding anniversary. he sent 2 huge prime rib, 2 huge baked potatoes with all the toppings, salad and dessert (seriously, the couple could have shared a meal and been full). Big River is one of my favorite restaurants around, and I'm not just talking about Cedar Hill.

5
★★★★★

I have never had any problems taking my kids there for dinner, but we usually go there around 5:00pm. The food is great and the owner is awesome. I had a special family party and Bobby helped pick out the menu and I got the whole dining room to myself everything was set up and the service was amazing. The price was beyond reasonable. Bobby has also donated 2 dinners for an elderly couple where I work, that were celebrating their 60th wedding anniversary. he sent 2 huge prime rib, 2 huge baked potatoes with all the toppings, salad and dessert (seriously, the couple could have shared a meal and been full). Big River is one of my favorite restaurants around, and I'm not just talking about Cedar Hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Big River Rocks - Its just what we needed - good food and good times! Staff is friendly and food is top notch!

5
★★★★★

Big River Rocks - Its just what we needed - good food and good times! Staff is friendly and food is top notch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

To the previous people that wrote about not being a family place... It is a BAR and grill. Also, lets not forget you are in Cedar Hill. The food is great

5
★★★★★

To the previous people that wrote about not being a family place... It is a BAR and grill. Also, lets not forget you are in Cedar Hill. The food is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

If you haven't been to this place then you are truly missing out on great food, good people, and good times! I have been going to Big River since it was established five years ago. The food is wonderful and the employees always make you feel at home! Yeah it can be a little hard to handle at times, espically to have children in there. Though, most of the bar patrons do try to respect the rules that Bobby has set up for the dinner rush! Prices are reasonable for the great portions that our served. You can't beat the trashed chicken wings, and the fried green beans, two of my favorites! IF you want it to be a family occasion, it is best to get there before 9p.m. There are always great food, good people, and great times at Big River! Saturday night karaoke rocks with Johnny B, the talent of him and the people that come in for him are truly amazing! Thursdays are always good times, too! It is fun to be there when it is volleyball time, which even the bar has its own team. Ladies nite on Wednesday's is slow, but they are hoping to pick up. So for good times and good people you can't beat this little place in our town! Great Job Bobby and Chris, thanks for all the memories, and making me feel like family!

5
★★★★★

If you haven't been to this place then you are truly missing out on great food, good people, and good times! I have been going to Big River since it was established five years ago. The food is wonderful and the employees always make you feel at home! Yeah it can be a little hard to handle at times, espically to have children in there. Though, most of the bar patrons do try to respect the rules that Bobby has set up for the dinner rush! Prices are reasonable for the great portions that our served. You can't beat the trashed chicken wings, and the fried green beans, two of my favorites! IF you want it to be a family occasion, it is best to get there before 9p.m. There are always great food, good people, and great times at Big River! Saturday night karaoke rocks with Johnny B, the talent of him and the people that come in for him are truly amazing! Thursdays are always good times, too! It is fun to be there when it is volleyball time, which even the bar has its own team. Ladies nite on Wednesday's is slow, but they are hoping to pick up. So for good times and good people you can't beat this little place in our town! Great Job Bobby and Chris, thanks for all the memories, and making me feel like family!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I agree with the previous review. This IS NOT A FAMILY RESTAURANT!!! They do have good food and pretty good size portions BUT.... The Service just SUCKS!!! And The Fowl Mouths at the bar ruin it for anyone that is there just trying to have a good dinner out. Do not take kids to this JOINT!! IT IS JUST A BAR... It is, as stated before the ONLY place in town to sit down and have anything besides pizza or burgers... That is why it stays open period.... I would recommend this place only because the food is actually pretty good BUT, If anyone opens a good sit down restaurant in Cedar Hill this place will DIE.... Wait, No it will become a really BAD POOL HALL filled with the same old DRUNKS..

2
★★☆☆☆

I agree with the previous review. This IS NOT A FAMILY RESTAURANT!!! They do have good food and pretty good size portions BUT.... The Service just SUCKS!!! And The Fowl Mouths at the bar ruin it for anyone that is there just trying to have a good dinner out. Do not take kids to this JOINT!! IT IS JUST A BAR... It is, as stated before the ONLY place in town to sit down and have anything besides pizza or burgers... That is why it stays open period.... I would recommend this place only because the food is actually pretty good BUT, If anyone opens a good sit down restaurant in Cedar Hill this place will DIE.... Wait, No it will become a really BAD POOL HALL filled with the same old DRUNKS..

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We have eaten here numerous times and I can tell you from experience do not take children to this Bar if you don't want to let them hear some very fowl language. The food is GOOD but the service just SUCKS!! I am not a local competitor just bashing this place. I am an actual customer who has tried numerous times to give this place a shot. It is the ONLY sit down dinner place in Cedar Hill and that is the ONLY reason it can keep it's doors open!!

3
★★★☆☆

We have eaten here numerous times and I can tell you from experience do not take children to this Bar if you don't want to let them hear some very fowl language. The food is GOOD but the service just SUCKS!! I am not a local competitor just bashing this place. I am an actual customer who has tried numerous times to give this place a shot. It is the ONLY sit down dinner place in Cedar Hill and that is the ONLY reason it can keep it's doors open!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The Big River Bar & Grill in Cedar Hill comes highly recommended. The owner has made the restaurant a family atmoshere. The bar is small, but there are games. pool tables and karaoke one Saturdays. The prices are moderate and the food portions are large. They run $5.00 lunch specials daily and evening dinner specials nightly. The service is friendly and everyone is made to feel welcome. I would recommend it to anyone who has never gone.

4
★★★★☆

The Big River Bar & Grill in Cedar Hill comes highly recommended. The owner has made the restaurant a family atmoshere. The bar is small, but there are games. pool tables and karaoke one Saturdays. The prices are moderate and the food portions are large. They run $5.00 lunch specials daily and evening dinner specials nightly. The service is friendly and everyone is made to feel welcome. I would recommend it to anyone who has never gone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

The food is exceptional and serving size is large for a small town bar and grill, especially Saturday's prime rib. Menu prices are also very fair considering portion size and quality. The service is acceptable but a little slow when crowded. Anyone knocking this business in a review must be from a local competitor that is losing business.

4
★★★★☆

The food is exceptional and serving size is large for a small town bar and grill, especially Saturday's prime rib. Menu prices are also very fair considering portion size and quality. The service is acceptable but a little slow when crowded. Anyone knocking this business in a review must be from a local competitor that is losing business.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

My husband and I ate there once and the food was delicious. It is a bar atmosphere so if your against bars, it's not for you. They have a nice dining area though and bar seating. We were treated with the utmost respect and plan to visit at least once a month for a meal & drink. Try them! I wouldn't suggest children because of the bar atmosphere.

4
★★★★☆

My husband and I ate there once and the food was delicious. It is a bar atmosphere so if your against bars, it's not for you. They have a nice dining area though and bar seating. We were treated with the utmost respect and plan to visit at least once a month for a meal & drink. Try them! I wouldn't suggest children because of the bar atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

We have tried to dine at this place numerous times. The food is generally good but the service has always been BAD!! The owner really does need to train his help. It appears that the owner would rather run a pool hall rather that a restaurant. We tried to stop here on Friday nights prior to the Football games but we finally had to go other places because if you did get your order in a reasonable time you could never get your waitress back to refill your drinks or even get the check paid. The place has usually been filled with some really unsavory types and families probably should be cautious. The owner did own Munzerts steak house and we ate there 2 times. Both time were bad experiences as well. Bobby does not know how to treat his customers. I really wish this place could clean up and get rid of the low lifes that dwell there and get back to good cooking and good service. Cedar Hill is dying for a good place to eat!

3
★★★☆☆

We have tried to dine at this place numerous times. The food is generally good but the service has always been BAD!! The owner really does need to train his help. It appears that the owner would rather run a pool hall rather that a restaurant. We tried to stop here on Friday nights prior to the Football games but we finally had to go other places because if you did get your order in a reasonable time you could never get your waitress back to refill your drinks or even get the check paid. The place has usually been filled with some really unsavory types and families probably should be cautious. The owner did own Munzerts steak house and we ate there 2 times. Both time were bad experiences as well. Bobby does not know how to treat his customers. I really wish this place could clean up and get rid of the low lifes that dwell there and get back to good cooking and good service. Cedar Hill is dying for a good place to eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

this is a WONDERFUL restaurant. It's a small place but they have wonderful food, great music and friendly people. My daughter recently got married and we had her rehersal dinner at the Big River Bar and Grill. It was an awesome meal. They had special tables ready for us, even printed up and served a special menu in honor of the bride and groom.

The incident aforementioned was years ago and occurred when the place was under different ownership. I daresay that almost all bar and grills have had some kind of incident in the past. I take issues with the "young drunk" comment too. This place is filled with good people, good music, good food, pool tables and karaoke. If you go looking for trouble anywhere you might find it; it's not fair to single out the Big. I go every chance I get. It's a fun night out.

4
★★★★☆

this is a WONDERFUL restaurant. It's a small place but they have wonderful food, great music and friendly people. My daughter recently got married and we had her rehersal dinner at the Big River Bar and Grill. It was an awesome meal. They had special tables ready for us, even printed up and served a special menu in honor of the bride and groom.

The incident aforementioned was years ago and occurred when the place was under different ownership. I daresay that almost all bar and grills have had some kind of incident in the past. I take issues with the "young drunk" comment too. This place is filled with good people, good music, good food, pool tables and karaoke. If you go looking for trouble anywhere you might find it; it's not fair to single out the Big. I go every chance I get. It's a fun night out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

The Big River Bar and Grill is outstanding. The owner Bobby Munzert owned the previous Munzert??s in Fenton and Hillsboro. HE has outstanding food and wonderful bartenders and waitresses. I recommend asking for Chris or Wendy, they are dolls. Food is excellent! Best fried chicken I have ever tasted and Friday night prime rib is wonderful. Bobby has brought the place up in the past few years and has made it a really nice place. I know you've heard about the guy getting shoot from the other review but that was years ago so don't let that stop you from trying this restaurant. I go every weekend and I just cant get enough. Best food I have ever tasted.

4
★★★★☆

The Big River Bar and Grill is outstanding. The owner Bobby Munzert owned the previous Munzert??s in Fenton and Hillsboro. HE has outstanding food and wonderful bartenders and waitresses. I recommend asking for Chris or Wendy, they are dolls. Food is excellent! Best fried chicken I have ever tasted and Friday night prime rib is wonderful. Bobby has brought the place up in the past few years and has made it a really nice place. I know you've heard about the guy getting shoot from the other review but that was years ago so don't let that stop you from trying this restaurant. I go every weekend and I just cant get enough. Best food I have ever tasted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

The bartenders are nice. This is a VERY small bar. They sometimes have karoke. This bar is known for the young drunks that come in there. Police are always close because a man was shot & killed there a few years back.

PROS: None
CONS: Lots of drunks

2
★★☆☆☆

The bartenders are nice. This is a VERY small bar. They sometimes have karoke. This bar is known for the young drunks that come in there. Police are always close because a man was shot & killed there a few years back.

PROS: None
CONS: Lots of drunks

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Big River Bar & Grill, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review